Amid Oppn Uproar Over Manipur, Parliament To Take Up No-Confidence Motion Against Modi Govt Next Week: Deets Inside!

The BJP-led NDA government was recently the target of a no-confidence motion from the opposition. Tuesday’s BAC meeting resulted in the decision to discuss it from August 8–10. Speaker of the Lok Sabha Om Birla has consented to bring up the no-confidence resolution against the BJP-led NDA government next week because the opposition’s protest in parliament over the Manipur issue has not abated.

The Business Advisory Committee (BAC), which is led by Birla, decided during its meeting on Tuesday that the discussion on the motion of no-confidence will take place from August 8 to 10. On August 10, according to reports, the motion will receive a response from Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The opposition leaders left the BAC meeting shortly after it began, according to sources, because they preferred that the government tackle the no-confidence motion rather than its legislative program first.

Since the first day of the current monsoon session, which began on July 20, the ethnic clashes in Manipur have become a source of contention between the government and opposition parties. The Prime Minister has been under pressure from the Opposition to make a comment over the violence in Manipur, which has caused disruptions in both houses of Parliament. The opposition has been calling for a lengthy debate on the Manipur crisis in the Rajya Sabha using Rule 267 rather than a quick debate under Rule 176.

The Opposition objected to the government’s earlier assertion that Union Home Minister Amit Shah will make a speech on the Manipur matter on the floor of the House. The no-trust motion was announced last week by Congress MP Gaurav Gogoi, with the support of all INDIA bloc members except the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS). There are 144 MPs in the Lok Sabha that are part of the INDIA bloc.

The no-confidence resolution was accepted by Lok Sabha Speaker Om Birla, who also promised to examine it with the floor leaders of all the parties and set a suitable time for it. It takes at least 50 members of the House to support a motion of no confidence in order for it to pass. The NDA, which is led by the BJP and has 331 MPs in the 543-member Lok Sabha, is well-positioned to reject the no-confidence move, therefore it is mostly symbolic in nature. In addition to NDA members, the YSRCP and the BJD have also endorsed the administration in response to the motion of no confidence.