UP Elections: Congress Leader Shot Herself To Get Party Ticket, Reveals Police

Every political party is constantly discussing ticket distribution amid the upcoming Uttar Pradesh Legislative Assembly elections. Meanwhile, the UP police have made a shocking disclosure and arrested 3 people, including the Congress leader, Rita Yadav. The arrest was made in relation to hatching a plot of being fatally attacked in order to get a ticket from the Congress Party.

Attack On Congress Leader

On January 3, 2022, police received a piece of information from Congress leader Rita Yadav that some unidentified bike-borne miscreants attacked her and fired at her in the leg. Rita Yadav was sent to Sultanpur District Hospital for her initial treatment.

After this incident came to light, the police started an investigation, and as an interesting turn of events, it was revealed that Rita Yadav was behind the entire incident. She had hatched this conspiracy to become a candidate in the Legislative Assembly elections and increase political stature.

Revealing the whole matter, the police said Rita Yadav along with two youths named Dharmendra Yadav and Mohammad Mustakim planned the whole incident. As of now, the police have arrested Rita Yadav, Dharmendra Yadav, and Mohammad Mustakim. The weapon that was used in the incident has also been recovered.

Yadav had earlier jumped ship from Samajwadi Party to the Congress. She made the headlines last year when she showed black flags to Prime Minister Narendra Modi when he visited Sultanpur on November 16. Later, she was arrested.

Assembly elections to be held in seven phases in UP

A total of 403 assembly seats will be elected in Uttar Pradesh in seven phases this time. The counting of votes will be done on 10 March. The assembly elections will begin on February 10 with voting in 58 seats in 11 districts of the western part of the state. This will be followed by 55 seats in the second phase on February 14, 59 seats in the third phase on February 20, 60 seats in the fourth phase on February 23, 60 seats in the fifth phase on February 2, and 57 seats in the sixth phase on March 3. And on March 7, voting will be held in 54 seats in the seventh and final phase.