ITBP Creates Record By Hoisting Tricolor On 75 Peaks At Same Time, Also Organized 75 Say Relay Long Range Patrol!!

On the completion of 75 years of India’s independence, the ‘Amritarohan’ campaign was organized by ITBP on 15th August in the series of programs being organized across the country in the series of ‘Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav’ of the Government of India. In the light of 75 years of independence, ITBP has marked 75 peaks near its 75 border posts. The force has simultaneously scaled all these peaks at 7 am. These include 33 peaks in Ladakh, 16 peaks in Uttarakhand, 11 peaks in Sikkim, 10 peaks in Himachal Pradesh and 5 peaks in Arunachal Pradesh. ITBP Himveers have made a unique record of hoisting the tricolor by climbing here together. The highest peak is located in Sikkim at 18,800 feet. ITBP has a special record in the field of mountaineering.

A 75-day long Relay Long Range Patrol (LRP) ‘AMRUT’ is also being organized by ITBP on the Indo-China border on completion of 75 years of independence. The ‘AMRUT’ relay LRP was started on 01 August 2022 from Karakoram Pass in Ladakh. The 75-day journey will end on October 14, 2022 at ‘Jachep La’ in Arunachal Pradesh. During this, about 7,575 km. distance will be covered. On Independence Day, ITBP has hoisted the flag at all its centres, border posts and other related institutions. These include force border posts from Ladakh to Arunachal Pradesh. The jawans of the force celebrated the Independence Day with full enthusiasm. Various programs were organized with the theme of ‘Har Ghar Tricolor’. Local border citizens also participated in these programs.

Established in 1962, ITBP guards the 3488 km long Indo-China border. The personnel of the force guard the border in extreme geographical and weather conditions. ITBP is also a leader in adventure sports. It has been announced that 20 officers of ITBP will be awarded Police Medals on the occasion of 76th Independence Day. Out of these, six jawans have been awarded Police Medals for Gallantry, three officers have been awarded President Police Medals for Distinguished Service and 11 officers have been awarded Police Medals for Meritorious Service.