Goa Elections Result 2022: BJP close to halfway

In Goa, preliminary figures show that in Goa, the BJP is leading in 20 assembly constituencies, while the Congress is leading in 19 seats. TMC is leading in 5 seats.

After exit polls predicted that the results in Goa would end in a dead heat, political parties in the state are preparing for a post-poll scenario. The counting of votes in the 40-seat state began at 8 am on Thursday.

With over 300 candidates contesting in 40 assembly constituencies, Goa is witnessing a multi-cornered contest with parties including BJP, Congress, Trinamool Congress, and AAP.

Meanwhile, BJP Goa CM Pramod Sawant on Tuesday traveled to Delhi to meet Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

The Congress on Wednesday said talks are on with the Aam Aadmi Party to garner support to form the government in Goa in the event of a hung Assembly