BJPINCLatest NewsPolitics

The Electoral Reform Bill 2021 passes the Rajya Sabha Amid Opposition’s Walkout

The Electoral Reform Bill passes the Rajya Sabha today despite the opposition's demand to send it to Select Committee. Once again one more bill passes the House with the Voice Vote. Similarly, yesterday the bill passed the Lok Sabha too. Parties in support of the bill include BJP, JD(U), YSRCP, AIADMK, BJD, and TMC-M. The Bill was tabled by the Union Law Minister Kiren Rijiju. As told by the Center The aim of the bill is to eradicate duplicate and fake voters from the electoral rolls. However, the members of the opposition parties like Congress, TMC, NCP, DMK staged a walkout in protest against the Bill. Mallikarjun Kharge, the leader of the opposition in the Rajya Sabha quotes, "It's a Mockery of our Democracy." He also says that Modi Government has passed the Bill without any debat...

Read More