Delhi, Patna, Srinagar, Puducherry, Guwahati, Sikkim, Shimla, Dehradun, Manipur and Chandigarh cities and towns fall under the severe seismic zones. It means the above places are highly sensitive zones of earthquakes.
A total of nine states of India and their capital cities fall under severe to very severe quakes zones. The outcomes came after a long observations and study by the National Centre for Seismology.
In the research, BIS (Bureau of Indian Standards) classifies different regions of India in zones II to V. Earthquake records, its frequency, its intensity, damages caused due to the quakes, tectonic activities underneath have been taken into evaluation and record for the microzonisation of different places in India.
Zone II is categorized the least seismically active, while Zone V is the most active zone. The zones IV and V are the severe and very severe categories accrodingly.
The most sensitive earthquake zones fall on the regions of the Himalayas that ranges from India’s north eastern states to Jammu and Kashmir. The Gangatic planes too are very sensitive of earthquakes including northern Uttar Pradesh and Bihar states.
Zone V includes all the north eastern states, J&K, Himachal Pradesh, Uttarakhand, the Rann of Kutch in Gujarat, north Bihar and Adman and Nicobar Islands while parts of J&K, Sikkim, northern UP, West Bengal, Gujarat and Delhi fall under zone IV, means severe zone.

Categories: India