The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) has won 14 mayoral seats in the Uttar Pradesh civic polls. The Mayawati’s heading Bahujan Samaj party was somehow able to manage 2 seats in the polls.

Have a look at the BJP’s mayor seats where BJP has won the polls:
Varanasi, Gorakhpur, Ghaziabad, Bareilly, Agra, Firozabad, Ayodhya, Mathura, Lucknow, Kanpur, Saharanpur, Jhansi Bareilly and Moradabad.
The BSP has won the seats of Aligarh and Meerut. The Uttar Pradesh civic polls were held in three phases. The civic polls are being seen as the first big test for Yogi Adityanath government’s performance in the past seven months. UP Chief Minister Adityanath crisscrossed the state to woo voters in the name of development. Samajwadi Party, BSP and Congress campaigns for the UP civic election were comparatively low-key. Both SP chief Akhilesh Yadav and BSP’s Mayawati did not campaign for the civic polls 2017.

In 2012, the BJP had won 10 out of 12 mayoral seats in 2012.

Categories: Politics