Assembly Elections 2017-18 Results
Gujarat—– BJP- 99, Congress- 80 & others- 3
Himachal Pradesh—– BJP-44, Congress- 21 & others- 3
The result of the election of Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh Assembly polls 2017 declared today. The elections were held in the first and second week of this month. A total 1828 candidates are in the fray for Gujarat’s 182 seats. In Himachal Pradesh, 337 candidates contested polls for 68 seats. The Bhartiya Janata Party has won a fifth consecutive term in Gujarat. Also, BJP will form the government in Himachal Pradesh with a big win, snatching another state from the Congress.

In 2017 Gujarat Assembly elections, BJP contested all 182 Assembly seats, while Congress fielded candidates in 176 constituencies. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) fielded candidates for 34 seats. In Himachal Pradesh, both Congress and BJP nominated candidates for all 68 seats. The grand old party left five seats for its ally Bharatiya Tribal Party. It withdrew its candidate from Vadgam Assembly seat and extended support to Jignesh Mevani who is contesting as an independent candidate.
Here’s what BJP President Amit Shah had to say on BJP’s victory in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh.
I thank people of Himachal and Gujarat for believing in PM Modi’s development path. This victory is the victory of PM Narendra Modi’s policies: Amit Shah
BJP vote share in 2012 was 12 47.85 percent. In 2017, it got 49.10 percent vote. BJP vote share has increased: Amit Shah
This is a victory for development over dynasty and polarisation: Amit Shah
All top Congress leaders have lost the elections: Amit Shah
Here’s what Congress President Rahul Gandhi had to say after losing Gujarat Himachal Pradesh.
The Congress party accepts the verdict of the people and congratulates the new governments in both states. I thank the people of Gujarat and Himachal with all my heart for the love they showed me: Rahul Gandhi said in a tweet.

Categories: Politics