Gujarat assembly polls will be held on two-phase-on 9th and 14 of December 2017. The upcoming election will be held on total 182 seats in the state and its result will be declared on 18 December. Both the major parties, Congress and BJP have released the list of candidates on the last date of filing nomination on Monday. The first phase election will be held on 9 December for 89 seats in South Gujarat and in the second phase on 9 December Central and North Gujarat will be covered on the remaining 93 seats.

The Congress has vacant two seats for allies and extending support to Dalit leader Jignesh Mevani, who is contesting as an independent from Vadgam (SC). The party has not fielded any candidate from the Vadgam seat as it is reserved for the scheduled castes. There is a twist for Congress on the Radhanpur constituency in Patan district, the party has given the ticket to Alpesh Thakor. Alpesh is a well-known Other Backward Classes (OBC) leader in the state and has recently joined Congress. However, BJP has a stronghold on this seat. The major party has also left two seats in the second phase of election for its ally Bharatiya Tribal Party, led by former Janata Dal (United) legislator Chhotu Vasava. In an astonished move, 4 sitting MLA Dharshi Khanpura (Kankrej), Hira Patel (Lunawada), Joitabhai Patel (Dhanera) and Natvarsinh Thakor (Mahudha) were not given ticket by the party for the election.
BJP has also released its final list for the Gujarat elections on Monday. Sureshbhai Patel is the candidate contesting election from Gandhinagar constituency, earlier represented by Prime Minister Narendra Modi in the 2012 Gujarat elections. Other senior leaders like Bhupendrabhai Patel will represent Ghatlodia, a constituency held by Anandiben Patel in 2012. Kushikbhai Patel will represent Naranpura constituency which was represented by the BJP President Amit Shah in 2012 elections. However, former chief minister of Gujarat Anandiben Patel has announced that she will not contest this time in the election.
The Saffron Party has filed 12 women candidates whereas the Congress has filed only 10 out of total 182 seats this year. While in 2012 election BJP had filed 19 women candidates including Former chief minister Ananidiben Patel and Congress filed 14 out of which 4 won the election. Gujarat election is very important for both the parties as BJP wants to win it considering Prime Minister’s image and the Congress wants to open its account for having a better result in 2019 Parliamentary election. BJP has numerous of the infrastructure project to vow the voter and the Congress are still reeling under the GST and demonetization and trying to make it the major issue in this election. With the quota issues in Gujarat, BJP might lose the election and Congress may take the advantages of this issue in Gujarat.

There are a lot of work in Gujarat which is still incomplete even BJP had ruled 3 times. According to National Family Health Survey (NFHS) 96% household in Gujarat has supply electricity while congress ruling states (Himachal Pradesh and Karnataka) have better electricity Supply. Uttarakhand, where BJP won the election this year has a power supply of 97.5 % household,1.5 % more than Gujarat. Gujarat ranking is 15th among the 20 in sex ratio.
BJP has strong support in Gujarat but according to the performance of BJP in India, It’s very hard to say that BJP can win election 4th time. People of Gujarat suffered most during the Demonetisation, even it had shown show the failure of BJP government.

Categories: Politics